Log in
  • Home
  • General Assembly 2020

ARE @ Virtual GA 2020


ARE Events at Virtual GA

Last updated: June 27

  • Sunday, 3:30pm EDT / 12:30 PDT
    Building Resilience as White Folk for Uncomfortable Conversations
    90 min - Requires GA Registration
Past GA2020 Events
  • Wednesday, 1:00pm EDT / 10:00am PDT
    ARE Membership Meeting
    90 min - Open to All - Slides / Recording

  • Thursday, 8:30pm EDT / 5:30pm PDT
    Intro to ARE Exhibit Hall Webinar
    30 min - Requires GA Registration
  • Friday, 7:30pm EDT / 4:30 pm PDT
    White Caucus Time / Grief Healing Time for Althea Bernstein
    90 min - Open to White Folks (Limit 100)
    FULL / Registration Closed
  • Saturday, 7:30pm EDT / 4:30 pm PDT
    White Caucus Time / Grief Healing Time for Althea Bernstein
    90 min - Open to White Folks (Limit 100)
    Registration / Closed

Related Events at Virtual GA

This year's GA offers an abundance of anti-racist / anti-colonialism programming. Here is a brief selection. Please check the GA program for event times and access information.

  • Anti-Racism as a Spiritual Practice (The White Ally Toolkit Project)

    Anti-racism ally-ship is the context for transformative spiritual work. The workshop/lecture will focus on letting go of the identity forged in a white supremacist society and redefining ourselves as change agents who can come fully into the promise of Unitarian Universalists who embrace the 8th principle.
    Allison Mahaley, Dr. David Campt

  • Building Communities to Counter White Nationalism/White Power
    This workshop addresses the dangerous rise of white nationalism, and how these groups utilize liberal language about free speech to gain a platform and propagate their message. Identifying good and bad-faith actions and discourse will help people identify and dismantle white nationalism in their own communities.
    Rev. Chris Rothbauer, Dr. Sharon Welch, Andrew J. Mackay

  • Climbing Up the Rough Side of the Mountain (Skinner House Books and Meadville Lombard Theological School)
    Our panel of Black UU clergy women share their stories depicting the multi-faceted ways Black clergy women interpret, inform and reshape their experiences as UUs. The panel features excerpts from the Anthology.
    Rev. Dr. Qiyamah Rahman, Rev. Dr. Michelle  Bentley

  • Having Anti-Racist Conversations and Inviting Into Action
    How can we have more effective anti-racist conversations with people who aren't already onboard? How many of us focus on the "most racist" person while ignoring people who are open, moveable, could be invited into conversation and action. How can we connect, listen, invite in, and build up anti-racist power?
    Chris Crass

  • Raising the Future, Beyond Rainbows (Diverse Revolutionary UU Multicultural Ministries)
    A panel of parents and teens will be discussing the challenges multicultural, multiethnic, multifaith, LGBTQ+ families face. They will examine how colonization, systems of white supremacy, and racism affected their family histories and inform decisions they make about their families, particularly focused on their identities and spirituality.
    Sarah ConroyDey, Eric Huang, Ian McAlpin, Kiana McAlpin

  • Setting the Table: Strategies in Organizing and Decolonizing (UUSC and Diverse Revolutionary UU Multicultural Ministries)
    Setting the communal table for our work as congregations is an opportunity to deepen connections and commitments from communities of color who are invested in shifting power and creating change. Being intentional about strategies for participation takes down potential barriers and encourages broader engagement.
    Kia Bordner, Imari S. Nuyen-Kariotis, Mathew P. Taylor

  • Settler Colonialism and Genocide (Indigenous Caucus of DRUUMM, UU Ministry for Earth)
    The Mayflower landing represented something new in the conquest of “the Americas.” We review the Plymouth Planation as an example of Settler Colonialism and begin to understand how the Pilgrims modeled the coming genocide, the introducution of chattel slavery and removal for the original people of this land.
    Rev. Dr. Clyde Grubbs, Rev. Karen Van Fossen, Rev. Adam Dyer



Resources for Virtual GA

General

Commission on Institutional Change
Widening the Circle Report

Individual GA Sessions / GA Chat During Sessions

ARE Membership Meeting

ARE White Caucus Time

Programming and Information for Black, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC)  at GA this year (not for white people)

We are building an anti-racist movement of white Unitarian Universalists to dismantle white supremacy in ourselves, our congregations, and communities.

Upcoming Events

  • No events found.

Contact Us

Mailing Address

5525 E Thomas Rd, B7
Phoenix, AZ 85018

Email
TheTeam(at)uuare.org

Social Media

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software